The Soulmate Equation (Compact Disc)

Staff Pick Badge
The Soulmate Equation By Christina Lauren, Patti Murin (Read by) Cover Image
$39.99
Email or call for price

Staff Reviews


Can you imagine how different, interesting, and captivating it would be to meet your soulmate through genetics? No more online dating, bar hopping, and guessing. DNA based matchmaking could potentially change the whole dating scene. That is in inessence, the premise of The Soulmate Equation. Christina and Lauren did a great job at explaining, defining, and exploring that world.

Jess is a data and statistics analyst, she understands numbers. That being said, no amount of number crunching can convince her to get back into the dating world. Her and her daughter are just fine alone. Jess has been left behind too often to trust anyone again so easily.  She is smart, kind, and a fighter. It is not easy to make in this world as a single mum but she sure tries her best. Any mother will recognize her morning struggles with her kid. All that being said, it can be hard being alone and doing everything alone all the time. 

When Jess hears about GeneticAlly, this new company doing matchmaking using DNA analysis, she doesn't trust it, but, she does understand it at least. After all, if there is one thing Jess understands is numbers. Except in her case the numbers must be wrong. Her test results show an unheard-of 98% compatibility with one of the founders of GeneticAlly, Dr. River Pena.  River is cold, robotic, distant, rude... how on earth could he be that compatible with her?  

Although this is a ridiculous idea the compatibility score is uncaratelistically high and GeneticAlly has a proposition for Jess: Get to know River and we'll pay you. Jess, who is barely making ends meet, is in no position to turn this offer down. As Jess and River are dragged from one event to the next and get to know each other better, Jess begins to realize that there might be more to the cold scientist than she first thought.

The concept was great, the initial hate to lovers interactions were interesting, and even the way they are almost forced to get to know each other was well written and kept you engaged. 

— Anne Zastrow

June 2021 Indie Next List


“I finished this in one sitting and my neck is killing me. I loved this new story from Christina Lauren, from the third-person point-of-view to the mix of science and romance! It was perfect, from every last side character to the sexual tension between the mains.”
— Blair Boles, Beausoleil Books, Lafayette, LA

Description


The New York Times bestselling author of The Unhoneymooners returns with a witty and effervescent novel about what happens when two people with everything on the line are thrown together by science--or is it fate? Perfect for fans of The Rosie Project and One Plus One.Single mom Jess Davis is a data and statistics wizard, but no amount of number crunching can convince her to step back into the dating world. Raised by her grandparents--who now help raise her seven-year-old daughter, Juno--Jess has been left behind too often to feel comfortable letting anyone in. After all, her father's never been around, her hard-partying mother disappeared when she was six, and her ex decided he wasn't "father material" before Juno was even born. Jess holds her loved ones close, but working constantly to stay afloat is hard...and lonely. But then Jess hears about GeneticAlly, a buzzy new DNA-based matchmaking company that's predicted to change dating forever. Finding a soulmate through DNA? The reliability of numbers: This Jess understands. At least she thought she did, until her test shows an unheard-of 98% compatibility with another subject in the database: GeneticAlly's founder, Dr. River Pe a. This is one number she can't wrap her head around, because she already knows Dr. Pe a. The stuck-up, stubborn man is without a doubt not her soulmate. But GeneticAlly has a proposition: Get to know him and we'll pay you. Jess--who is barely making ends meet--is in no position to turn it down, despite her skepticism about the project and her dislike for River. As the pair are dragged from one event to the next as the "Diamond" pairing that could make GeneticAlly a mint in stock prices, Jess begins to realize that there might be more to the scientist--and the science behind a soulmate--than she thought. Funny, warm, and full of heart, The Soulmate Equation proves that the delicate balance between fate and choice can never be calculated.


Product Details
ISBN: 9781797123240
ISBN-10: 1797123246
Publisher: Simon & Schuster Audio
Publication Date: May 18th, 2021
Language: English