Rebels of the Kasbah: Red Hand Adventures, Book 1 (Paperback)

Rebels of the Kasbah: Red Hand Adventures, Book 1 By Joe O'Neill, Sara Addicott (Editor), Kristin Myrdahl (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Joe O'Neill, Sara Addicott (Editor), Kristin Myrdahl (Illustrator)
$9.95
Usually Ships in 1-5 Days

Description


An official selection of the National Battle of the Books, the first entry in the award-winning Red Hand Adventures series is an action-packed journey through a colonial Morocco filled with pirates, bandits, and cruel warlords.

Orphaned as a small child, twelve-year-old Tariq has relied on his wits and bravery to survive on the streets of Tangier--until he unexpectedly wakes one morning in a dark cell. Surrounded by other terrified children and helped by the handsome and friendly Aseem, he soon learns his fate--he's been kidnapped and will be sold to the highest bidder. Along with the quiet, intelligent Fez and plucky British schoolgirl Margaret, Tariq and Aseem are sent to the remote desert kasbah of Caid Ali Tamzali, ruler of the Rif Mountains. Pressed into a deadly contest for the entertainment of the evil warlord, the four must act quickly to escape before almost certain death--or worse. Although aided by a beautiful assassin and a small but clever band of resistance fighters, their lives depend on their own teamwork, inventiveness, and courage.

This fast-paced historical adventure, set in 1912, transports readers from Tangier's corrupt slave markets to the wild frontier of the Moroccan desert, the heart of ancient China, and the pirate-infested seas of the Mediterranean. Faced with perilous challenges, the young clan must learn to overcome their cultural differences and forge a new family for themselves built on trust and loyalty.

For fans of Kipling, Jack London, and the Indiana Jones series, the first award-winning book in the Red Hand Adventures series, Rebels of the Kasbah, is a modern, multi-cultural twist on the classic adventure novel and an exhilarating tale for middle readers that is filled with daring, danger, and friendship.

About the Author


Joe O'Neill: Joe O'Neill is the CEO and founder of Waquis Global Services, which gives him the opportunity of frequent world travel exploring different cultures, where he gathers information and inspiration for his writings.Sara Addicott: Sara Addicott is a freelance editor living and working in Seattle. She is a graduate of Smith College and the University of Washington's editing program and is a member of the Northwest Independent Editors Guild. When she's not working, Sara plays competitive tennis (a lot of it!) and loves traveling, cooking, and watching Seahawks games with her husband and two children.Kristin Myrdahl: Kristin has a background in set design, which enables her to translate visually for the readers, the world Joe O'Neill has created in Red hand Adventures. Also an artist and design consultant, Kristin lives in a hundred year old house over looking the Columbia Gorge in the Pacific Northwest. Anna Fonnier: Anna Fonnier, Director/Owner of Flourish Creative, is a talented graphic designer who enjoys letter press, pottery, raising goats, chickens and riding horses. She lives on an orchard with a glorious view of Mt. Hood.Bedelia C. Walton: Bedelia is a tireless copy editor, making sure all things are accurate for Red hand Adventures. Bedelia lives on a vineyard with her loving husband Leo and their dog, Citra.


Product Details
ISBN: 9780985196943
ISBN-10: 0985196947
Publisher: Black Ship Publishing
Publication Date: September 23rd, 2014
Pages: 270
Language: English
Series: Red Hand Adventures