Champion of Fate (Heromaker #1) (Hardcover)

Staff Pick Badge
Champion of Fate (Heromaker #1) By Kendare Blake Cover Image
$19.99
On Our Shelves Now
1 on hand, as of May 29 4:25am
(Young Adult)

Other Books in Series

This is book number 1 in the Heromaker series.

Staff Reviews


Kendare Blake’s stories always have exhilarating concepts. You may have heard of her other novels; Anna Dressed in Blood and the Three Dark Crowns series. I thoroughly enjoyed them so when I saw this new release I was so excited for what she came up with this time! 

Champion of Fate kicks off the Heromaker series with the story of Reed, a tall lanky girl who stumbles into the lives of two immortal Aristene warriors of The Order. Reed learns quickly what The Order is fated to do, but the question is…can she fulfill her destiny? Will she follow the path fated to her? Blake tells a fast paced story that keeps you on your toes. There are characters you will adore, and others you will be thoroughly annoyed with but are endearing nonetheless.

You get some light world building in this first novel, but I expect to uncover more of the world as the story progresses. This novel is great for those wanting to step into the epic world of fantasy. It is not too complex right off the bat which I have found to be daunting in some fantasy novels. Champion of Fate is easily digestible and the story is simply fun. There is war and sacrifice, magic and legend…a tough girl and her stubborn horse. If you grew up a horse lover, you will appreciate this book all the more because Aristene warriors have with them a horse gifted with immortality. These horses are intelligent and fight tooth and hooves with their Aristene to bring glory to those who are fated!

The way Blake ends the novel made me blow air through my nose and shake my head smiling because she left just enough unsaid to make me suspicious about what is to come next. There are clearly so many things she can do with the book so I really just cannot wait to get my hands on the next one, and I am sure you will feel the same way too! She ties up enough to make you think that everything can be okay…for now. But there are small details that beg to differ, so who knows! Read the next book with me to find out!

 

— Elisabeth Martin Rogers

Description


#1 New York Times bestselling author Kendare Blake is back with an epic duology starter that follows a young woman training to join a fabled order as she attempts to lead a hero to his critical first victory. A must-read for fans of Alexandra Bracken and Victoria Aveyard.

Aristene are an order of mythical female warriors. Though heroes might be immortalized in legends, it’s the Aristene who guide their paths to victory. They are the Heromakers.

Raised by the order after being orphaned, Reed grew up surrounded by her future sisters-in-arms and the incredible stories of their quests. She’s been counting the days until her initiation, and now one final test stands in her way: shepherding her first hero to glory on the battlefield. Succeed, and her place in the order is secured. Fail, and she’ll be cast out of the only home she’s ever known. 

But Reed didn’t count on Hestion, her assigned hero, being both infuriating and intriguing. When their strategic alliance turns into something more, it forces Reed to question the cost of becoming an Aristene. As battle looms and fate hangs in the balance, Reed must make an impossible choice: her hero or her order.

About the Author


Kendare Blake is the #1 New York Times bestselling author of the Three Dark Crowns series. She holds an MA in creative writing from Middlesex University in northern London. She is also the author of Anna Dressed in Blood, a Cybils Awards finalist; Girl of Nightmares; Antigoddess; Mortal Gods; and Ungodly. Her books have been translated into over twenty languages, have been featured on multiple best-of-year lists, and have received many regional and librarian awards. Kendare lives and writes in Gig Harbor, Washington. Visit her online at www.kendareblake.com.

Praise For…


“Cements Kendare Blake as one of the best fantasy authors writing today.” — Erin A. Craig, New York Times bestselling author of House of Salt and Sorrows

"Immersive from the very first moment—I would follow Kendare Blake into any world she creates."  — Amie Kaufman, New York Times bestselling author of The Isles of the Gods

“An enthralling tale of fierce warriors, devastating betrayal, and an aching romance.”  — Suzanne Young, New York Times bestselling author of The Program series

“Enthralling. A fabulous series opener combining true thrills and deep relationships.” — Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

“This duology starter, epic in scope and deliberate in tone, is unmatched. Bittersweet and glorious.” — Booklist (starred review)

[A] thrilling fantasy duology opener.”  — Publishers Weekly

“Nuanced. At its core, Champion of Fate is a compelling story of feminine strength over adversity and heartbreak.”  — The Nerd Daily



Product Details
ISBN: 9780062977205
ISBN-10: 0062977202
Publisher: Quill Tree Books
Publication Date: September 19th, 2023
Pages: 480
Language: English
Series: Heromaker